I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (2024)

Type: Overnight
Gender: Co-Ed
Focus: Arts / Music
Website: bluelake.orgI found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (1)
Winter Phone: 800-221-3796
Profile updated: 4/14/06Submit profile update

I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (2)

Rating: 4.1 (1-5) based on 61 reviews.

Summer Camp Blue Lake Fine Arts has a good overall rating on CampRatingz.com.

The following postings have not been substantiated by CampRatingz.com.

KEYDate

S

t

a

f

f

F

a

c

i

l

i

t

i

e

s

A

c

t

i

v

i

t

i

e

s

P

e

r

s

o

n

a

l

A

t

t

e

n

t

i

o

n

M

o

n

e

t

a

r

y

V

a

l

u

e

Comments

10/1/1945535 I love BLFAC. i've gone there for two years in a row and i look forward to going again in the summer of 2020. I always make lifelong friends and learn valuable skills for my instrument (trombone). Being there with hundreds of other kids who value band just as much as me is always refreshing and i catch myself talking about my experiences at least once a day. There are tons of inside jokes and cults and jokes that you can retell over and over. The only negative things while going there is the water quality and the showers, but atm they are working on updating the bathhouses and if you bring your own water its not a big deal. Just to remember to pack smart and look at their website for more info on what you should do. overall, BLFAC is a 10/10 experience and i would recommend it to anyone looking to spend 12 days having non stop fun. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (4)
5/22/1954553 Teaches you to be independent and rely on yourself. Water could be better, but definitely a good music camp. Some people complain about the space between classes, but overall a very great camp. Planning to go every chance I get! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (6)
1/10/1923311 I gonna give it to you straight. This camp is where rich kids go to spend over $1,500 to live in the woods for 2 weeks and hike all day. The staff are rude. I remember listening to a counselor rant about a girls "****ty shorts". Most of the counselors seemed to have been trained in a way that promoted screaming at people and making your 2 week stay miserable.My UD was really rude. I did not feel comfortable around her or safe. Another counselor had told her I seemed upset. When she asked me about it she was interrogative, and threatening. She seemed more concerned about her consequences due to my lack of satisfaction than my actual feelings. She also got really mad when I wouldn't tell her things. She wouldn't let me call my parents. There was a girl in my cabin who twisted her ankle. They made her walk all the way the main lodge (at least a mile), and they had 4 medical vans. I would never send anyone there without at least a phone. The majority of the staff is untrustworthy and shady I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (8)
1/13/1855555 This is honestly my favorite place in the world. As much as I try to fight it, I usually cry straight through Saturday night and Sunday morning. The staff is excellent; all of my counselors have been outstanding role models, kind, intelligent, and overall committed. The instructors are so hard working, and even though their job is not easy, they truly strive to make sure that every camper grows individually. I highly recommend this place. Unless you hate fun. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (10)
8/1/1743555 Overall, the camp is amazing. There are a few things that can be hard to get used to, such as sulfer in the water, but other than the few tweaks it could make, Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp is one of the best out there I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (12)

*
7/25/1624534 My daughter roomed with a boy in what qas suppose to be an all girls cabin! The camp did not notify us there would be a boy sleeping in the same cabin as our daughter. The camp counselor never even mentioned it! My daughter came a day late to camp so none of the campers were in the cabin when I dropped her off. I think this camp lacks integrity because they have a set aside separated boys and girls camp areas and have rules about boys and girls not being allowed in the opposite camp, yet they assigned a bot to a girls cabin and didnt even tell the parents??? My daughter said he was definitely a boy, although he told her he was in the early stages of a sex change. Is that true?? Who knows, its just what he told her. I dont know because the camp hasnt told me anything! My daughter has been going to blue lake for 7 years and unfortunately this is her last. What else is going on at that camp they arent telling us??? I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (13)

*
5/18/1654544 This camp is wonderful for arts students. If you are extremely serious about your art form, I would recommend another camp because it's somewhat relaxed. On the flip side, you will be working most of the day - so if you are apathetic about what you do, I would not recommend this camp either. But most students who attend love it! The food isn't as good as a homecooked meal, but pretty acceptable considering it is a camp. Almost all of the staff is wonderful - my cabin counselor in particular was exceptional (I was in Matthews, Oakridge). There are some stuck-up kids, but you will find those wherever you go. I can guarantee you that you will find at least one person in both your cabin and your major that you enjoy spending time with. I happened to have a cabin of all great people, who I still stay in contact with. I am coming back this year. I myself am a theater kid (although I play instruments and sing) and am going for Shakespeare this year and went for Musical Theater last year. :) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (15)

*
4/26/1654555 I love camp. This year will be my fourth, and I'm beyond exited. Every year Blue Lake provides me with new skills, new friends, and rekindles my love for music. The staff is overall great. I've had a bad counselor, but my conductors, sectional teacher, and other staff made up for it. The cabins are rustic. I personally love them, they give you a real camp experience. The only reason I gave a four on the facilities are the bathroom buildings. The water pressure has much to be desired, but other than that, no complaints. The food to me is fine. The burrito and chicken salad sandwich are usually the only thing I eat. I would mark it down. But they cook for a ton of people, so I won't bash them. I major in orchestra, and have 2 90 minute rehearsals and 2 45 minute technique classes a day. that's 3 hours. It's honestly not that much. You get an hour break if you're in band, orchestra or choir. Beware that many stretch the truth in these reviews. Would definitely recommend BLFAC to everyone. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (17)

*
4/12/1613511 Food was TERRIBLE! Most of the staff are mean and won't let you stop doing vocal exercises (Choir) to get a drink of water and even if they did the water tastes like cement in disguise. We do have to get up early (I get up early usually so wasn't a problem personally, but a lot of people hated that part). I think the most intense classes you can take there are dance, choir, and band; where you never get a break. I minored in art and the staff was a lot nicer, but still had strict rules. The scenery is very pretty and gives a camp-like feeling so that is good, but this camp isn't that great. If you want to practice go somewhere else because they're mean not helpful and if you want the camp experience go somewhere else because you will be overworked and deprived of decent food. If you do decide to come here you need a mattress because their's are like non existent, lots of snacks that you have to hide from staff, and the ability to not contact your family--like EVER!!! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (19)

*
2/23/1653455 I had a great time at Blue Lake, and I did learn a lot. I'm glad that I went and I am looking forward to going again.(Main Camp is better than Bernie!) The Staff was very nice and my counselor didn't feel like a counselor, she just felt like another friend to hang out with. The facilities went that great, not going to lie. In main camp, the whole unit shares a bathhouse (not that big of a problem, actually.) My tip for the bathrooms is: take it during your breaks, or be the first one there in the morning. The hot water only goes for one person, the first person there. I ran to the bathhouse every morning and every morning I was the only one with hot water. The activities are fun, except sometimes you just don't feel up to it. The concerts tend to be really long and nobody wants to sit there that long. (GO TO THE BATHROOM BEFORE, trust me...) The personal attention was nice for me. Though it is expensive, I am glad that I went. (I, of course, didn't pay for it though.) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (21)

*
10/10/1355555 OMFG. This place is the most AMAZING camp i've ever, ever been to. I love the instructors,my counselors, and everything else. (Except the bagged burritos, don't eat those!) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (23)

*
8/5/1315122 It taught me a lot, but in counselor aspect, its terrible. Some of the counselors when I went (The first session of 2013) were rude thought they were better than everyone else and some of them hated me for some reason. At a concert, I was doing my best to sit through the 30 minute long orchestra suite and I swear the counselor next to me was watching me the whole time and just waiting to yell at me for something. I closed my eyes for one second, she tells me to wake up. I drink from my water bottle, she takes it away because it accidently crinkled. Also, I wasn't the bad type of camper, I kept to myself and respected others. But the counselors still hated me. In the aria unit, there was a snake and one of the counselors SCREAMED,GET OUT! to confused and scared campers. That counselor didn't help the situation at all. Also I starved there because the food was TERRIBLE. It was fake and we had to wait 30 mins each day because everyone from the camp was jammed in the cafeteria. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (24)

*
6/22/1333553 Okay unlike most of the stuck up kids and the gooey lovey dovey people I will actually tell it like it is. I have gone to Blue Lake for 4 years and every year the food it gross and the water tastes like sulfur. The showers are cold, and there is always that one person in your cabin who seems to hate you for no reason. It's hot and sometimes there is a lot of walking. People here complain about the evening concerts (1 hour- 1.5 at most) but it IS a FINE ARTS CAMP, what do you expect. Whenever I would leave the camp I'm not sure why but I would wish I wasn't leaving. Blue Lake may not be the best camp out there but it's the one that despite all its shortcomings you want to go back I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (26)

*
5/4/1354555 I don't know where to start with this camp, but I can't wait to go back again this summer. You have so much fun meeting new friends, and it stinks when you need to leave. The staff were great, the facilities were overall pretty good, and the activities were awesome. Sure the concerts were a bit long, but you will live. The food was actually pretty good, some of it wasn't that good, but most of it was ok for camp food. The water tastes bad, so bring bottled water! The point is that BLFAC is great for people serious about music, and those who wish to increase their talent at what they do, which is why I loved Blue lakes, and plan to go for as many years as possible. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (28)

*
4/26/1311111 THIS CAMP IS THE WORST THING YOU CAN EVER GO TO. IF YOU VALUE YOUR LIFE, POPULARITY, AND SOCIAL STATUS, DO NOT GO TO THIS CAMP. ONLY LOSERS GO TO THIS CAMP, AND YOU HAVE TO WEAR UNIFORMS AND IT IS A PRISON. II REPEAT, DO NOT GO TO THIS CAMP. i seriously would have done ANYTHING to get out of that juvie. it's terrible, the worstt thing you can imagine. there are some decent boys, but you look like a racoon just pooped you out, ate it, and then threw you up. literally. when i came home, my hair was about a mile high in volume because the showers suck EVERYTHING SUCKS. the cabins are like shacks the beds are made out of paper the conselours and staff are rude and do not let you have any form of contact except writing letters. at night, you have to sit at a classical musical concert for about two hours, and then you have to wake up at 6. I CANT STRRESS ENOUGH, DO.NOT.GO.TO.THIS.CAMP. it will be the worst thing you have ever done. you will never ever be the same, and youll have flashbacks. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (29)

*
4/10/1311111 No one should go to this camp. It is way too much money for what it gives you. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (30)

*
6/2/1254455 This camp is crazy fun. You seriously wouldn't believe. I'm going back for my third year this summer and I can not wait till I go I know the exact number of days (39) and I have so many friends that I have stayed in contact with since last summer. The food there is almost as good as my schools but not quite considering the culinary team (which is a class of students) got second place in a national competition. You will never forget the people you know there. 2 weeks ago I was at a track meet and the kid next to me was like hey you went to blue lake right? I was shocked but I did know him. Like someone else in the comments said you must love your instrument because you play a lot. But I'm a 2nd generation blue laker my mom went as well as an international tour and I hope one day my children will attend blue lake:) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (31)

*
10/10/1154555 If you are considering BLFAC, please do not think that this camp is what the people that rated it all 1s says it is. They are all huge babies. This camp is amazing. Sure the water is a little eggy and the food isn't gormet, but you'll live. You'll meet friends for life and never forget the time you spend at Blue Lake. But just a warning; you will spend A LOT of time playing your instrument or singing or whatever you do, so if you don't love what you do, this camp is not for you. This camp is for people that love doing what they do and want to spend all day doing it. I loved camp because I could do that and played with people that were at my level. I'm going back to this camp every summer that I can. It was truly an amazing experience. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (32)
SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed
SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed
SYSTEM: 4 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed
2/25/1154555 You need to keep in mind that camp is camp! It isn't going to be a fancy camp with expensive meals and great facilities. If you want a true camp experience then this is exactly where you should go. I had a great time and here's a tip; just have fun! i have gone for 3 years and have met so many nice people. Give it a try because you will love it! :) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (34)

*
11/15/1054555 I love Blue Lake! I went for the first summer this year and I was scared, because I was younger than everybody there, but after like 30 minutes, I forgot about being scared. Everyone was so nice, including the counselors and teachers. The food was better than my school's food, since they have a salad bar and they serve chocolate and popsicles sometimes. ;) The classes are long but once you're finished, you have rec time. The weather has mood swings, so bring both jeans and shorts and lots and lots of white socks. Depending on where your unit is, you have to wake up from 6-6:45. The water there is kinda gross, because it is full of sulfur. I just drank out of bottled water. You make so many new friends and get REALLY close to everyone there and you don't want to leave. Besides the concerts (which aren't the worst), evening activities are so much fun! They were my favorite part of BL. I am already excited to go back next year!!! :D I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (36)

*
8/27/1021222 Not Professional. Good for a campy experience (bad food, bad facilities, cheesy activities, so-so counselors, strict rules, early wake ups...) BUT BAD IF YOU ACTUALLY WANT SOMETHING SERIOUS. so, get serious and go to either Interlochen, or a college art summer program, Blue lake is a bit of a time waster. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (38)

*
4/14/1054555 I love this place. The staff is wonderful and everyone is really nice. It is a truly beautiful place located in the woods. This will be my fourth summer attending BLFAC. More like my second home instead of just some summer camp. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (40)
SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed
1/8/0954454 I really enjoyed this camp. My teachers were very nice and i learned a lot. If you are in band, sometimes the practices get tiring, but it is still worth it.I loved my cabin. I was friends with every person! The setting was beautiful, i loved walking through the pine forests. the only things that i didn't like was that the food wasn't that good and it was VERY sandy. PLus, in the mornings, i almost froze to death!! it is soooo cold, so bring extra blankets. Also, bring bottled watter because the water there tastes gross. (but you get used to it) :) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (42)
12/19/0844555 This camp is awesome!! I was in orchestra (2008). The water tastes bad but you get used to it. The food was so so. The staff was really nice. I met alot of good friends there and can't wait to go back next year. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (44)
11/14/0855555 My 11 year old daughter attended BLFAC this past summer and absolutely loved it. She is going back for two sessions next summer. The counselors where attentive to her needs and really went out of their way to foster friendships among cabin mates. I sent a case of water with her b/c of the complaints about the well water and she only used a few bottles. She is a picky eater and survived the 2 weeks just fine. As far as cost/value, the other two major Music/Arts Camps on the East Coast are well over $1,000 per week. BLFAC was half that price and they offer many scholarships. Remember, it's an ARTS CAMP, that means you are there to rehearse, practice and develop your craft, not to hang-out doing nothing all day. I would highly recommend BLFAC to anybody who wants to better their chosen art form and make some new friends in the process. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (46)
9/24/0842131 I hate this place. All the people who say awnsome need to rewire their Brains. The place sucks eggs. Food is fatty, and camp has to many rules and no time for fun just practice. Don't go, just hand around home and hang with your friends instead! Alex I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (48)
8/23/0854555 Blue Lake is a phenomenal camp. Instruction is fabulous. The food is much better than most are saying. Counselors are great. Facilities could use some updating - but it is a camp...and that should be the last thing that is updated. Keep up the great work! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (50)
8/17/0845554 I love this camp there are so many oputunities.The conductors are top of the line and the expierence you gain will help you a lot. the Staff can be strict at times but they are a lot of fun. Blue lake has air conditioned places were you can get in you are hot. You make great friends that will last you a life to and memories to go with it. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (52)
8/5/0812331 way to expensive. same thing everyday. the counselers are mean and they make you sit for an hour and listen to orchestras bc they are two lazy to watch you. there food made my family sick, the water made me want to puke and they had stupid rules like tuck in your shirt. they make you play for five hours and you have to get up at 6. you have like no free time at all. my counseler got made at a girl in my cabin because she was homesick and oakridge unit had the worst camp song. it was fun to hang out with friends though. if you want to go (why would you) do not do a minor they take up all your time and i would rather sleep. bring waterbottles fans and ALOT of money and snacks. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (54)
7/5/0854554 Great camp. This will be my fourth year. Food is bad but I stick to the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (56)
6/26/0853555 Blue Lake is so much fun! I went with my friend and if you send in your applications together, you will be put in the same unit and cabin. We developed so many inside jokes it was wicked! The counselors are really nice and chipper. Don't worry; they will squish the bugs for you. The facilities are average, like at school. The water is well water, so it doesn't taste that great. The food is also only slightly better than in your school cafeteria. It's really fun, and you have technique classes where you get more personal attention. It's really fun and everyone there is nice to you. You should bring a fan if you plan to go. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (58)
6/24/0854445 I LOVE BLUE LAKE!It is truly my favorite place to be during the summer time. I've been to Blue Lake 5 times, and I leave for my 6th trip in two days! I've made so many amazing friends through BLFAC. It's truly incredible. A caution though: if you are easily annoyed i don't think BLFAC is right for you. There is always one werid person in a cabin. There's no avoiding it! Other then the somewhat weird bandos and orchdorks, Blue Lake is a wonderful experience that any musician/artist should have! : ) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (60)
4/19/0845452 blue lake was a fun camp. you learn alot, n meet alot of cool new intersting people. somtimes the staff can get on your nerves but their just doing their job really. o and the food is bad but they have salad which is good, n' the water tastes like eggs.. so bring your own water I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (62)
3/7/0842333 it was an alright camp. you do meet alot of people but the food is terrible they make you sing a song before you eat your meals and its like school. i had a huge maggot crawl onto my folder during script analysis class. I wouldnt go back. it is to long and its the same thing everyday. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (64)
1/15/0844544 I went 2 years ago and had the best summer of all. It was a great camp with the bands, and plus you get to meet new friends from a lot of places. I had so much fun.Best place in the world. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (66)
1/1/0854454 I LOVE LOVE LOVE Blue Lake! This year will be my third year and I can't wait to go back!!! The food sucked, and I lived off the salad bar. The water was awful, but I had some water bottles so I surived. I met the love of my life and the best friends anyone could have. There wasn't much of a cultural difference, but I survived as a minority. Please don't go to Interlochen, it's horrible!!!! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (68)
12/29/0755555 i went to this camp last yearr (2007) and i was VERY impressed. at first i did not want to go. but i figured i would give it a try. i had so much fun and met so many new friends! i learned many new things. and i am proud to say i went to band camp. it was probably the funnest expierience of my life. my camp councler was so nice. and u get use to the singing and dancing thing before each meal. okay so maybe the food isnt the best but who cares! it's edible and it's food. take what u can get. I am for sure going bcak this year. it's been a year and im still talking about my amazing time at this TERRIFIC camp. i highly recommend it. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (70)
11/18/0743434 I had fun... but the food was awful. I lived off the salad bar. If you fear mice, it's bad, because there is a mouse problem in some cabins. And it's less than two weeks for a session. The way it gets any monetary value is because you can audition for scholarships. I got half of it paid for by them (otherwise i wouldn't have went) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (72)
8/29/0755555 I L-O-V-E BLUE LAKE!Everything about it was awesome! I went fot bass and they had so much music packed into one day it was amazing! THe concerts are great and you really learn a lot there. One of the best parts besides the music is all of the friends you make. You get incredibly close to your cabin mates and coucelors. I can't wait to go back! If you love the arts the Blue Lake is the perfect place to spend the summer! Blue Lake is bringing artsy back! (Sleepy Hollow-Stauss IV session '07 rules!) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (74)
SYSTEM: 3 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed
6/19/0754445 This was an amazing camp. It was hard, but anything that has the word ART in it should be. Its amazing what these people can do in two weeks. When we got there nobody knew each other, they stuck around 100 kids in a group and told us to act as a team to create music.The amazing thing is, we did. By the end of camp we actually sounded like a group. Now dont get me wrong, I attemopted to choke a kid with a moehawk because he made my friend cry, and the camp seems to be overrun with kids in black and purple lipstick(love 'em ) but its amazing, I made some of my best friends there, and I plan on going back till they tell me I cant. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (76)
6/7/0711111 This camp is hugely expensive, and as bad as that is, this is a really stuck up camp. All the kids here thinks it's a competition...and it isn't. All the counselors were really mean to us! There are soo many cliques here! The first day from soo much practicing my fingers started to bleed (I play violin) and the director wouldn't let me go to the nurse! Thanks for letting me bleed on my violin! The counselors think there better at you at everthing...they may be but I saw this one counselor say to a kid "That sounded soo horrible!" and it made the girl cry! The food is sooo bad. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS HERE< YOU"LL BE SORRY! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (78)
5/29/0743555 Blue Lake is the best camp I've ever been to! Last year was my 1st year and since its 11 days I was nervous. But it was a great experience. I'm going again this year and I can't wait. I live far away in Michigan and it is worth the long drive and through all the the traffic. I didnt want to leave last year. If you go for band get the blue band because its the best! I was 2nd chair trumpet and it was soooooo much fun! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (80)
4/15/0755555 this camp has changed my life for the better. I have met friends that will be with me the rest of my life. Blue lake is the best camp around. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (82)
4/11/0755554 I went to BLFAC for four years, and once on their international program. Highly recomended for students of all skill levels and ages. I personally intend to return as a staff member throughout college, and should they take an interest in arts, send any of my kids there. Two thumbs way up. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (84)
4/10/0754555 blue lake is my absolute favorite place on earth! this summer (07) will be my 5th year at the camp. i love it so much and id do it forever if i could. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (86)
2/26/0711132 Not a good camp for serious musicians (try interlochen)...I got west nile...my teacher was the pits...counselor got drunk I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (88)
2/24/0753545 Definitely worth it! I took the theater program in the summer of '06, and I learned more about technique in 2 weeks there than yearlong classes anywhere else. But if you go, beware--only the theater building has a/c, and all their water tastes and smells like eggs. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (90)
1/29/0754555 So, I went to Interlochen's page and really the grading was really divided....lots and lots of 1s, seldomly were 5s. but I come to Blue lake and it seems that we had nearly all 5s! you wanna know why?? because, simply Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp IS FREEKING AMAZING! :D GO IF YOU CAN!!! ITS LIFE CHANGING! :D I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (92)
1/16/0754455 Blue Lake is awesome! I especially improved a lot my 1st and 3rd years, which were my first year at the camp and the my first year at the high school session. this year I'm going to Europe with the international program too! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (94)
1/13/0755555 Blue Lake is the best place on earth! Where else can you travel to Europe and play your favorite instrument or sing?!?!? I can't wait to become a counselor there! Blue Lake kicks Interlochen's butt! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (96)
11/2/0655455 Blue Lake is amazing! I live for those lazy afternoons on main camp. Nothing beats walking straight from practice to get ice cream with a kid you've only known for a few days (at yet, you're completely in love with). The classes are fantastic. The staff is fantastic. The campers are fantastic. It's just all around amazing. Don't let anyone ever tell you anything different. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (98)
10/20/0655455 blue lake was AWESOME!!!ok so the food was nasty. and the concerts boring.but that isn't really a problem!! i had SOO much fun, and the teachers are really nice, and they pick great songs (orchestra)the talent show was awesome, and the dance was a blast!you'll make tons of new friends:) I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (100)
10/4/0654555 BLue Lake is the best camp EVER! I went there for choir but wasnt in a cabin wiht myfriends. but somhow I was in a cabin with 2 peopel that I knew from when I was like 7. and havnet seen upm in years! what are the odds of that? I would MOST COMPLEATLY recomend this camp to ANYONE who likes music/art who loves the sun (haha) and who loves people! I LOVE BLUE LAKE!...sure it gets hot....sure its a lot of work and sure some/most of the conserts at night are borning...the dance is amazing! the learing is amazing! the people are WONDERFUL! the talent show is AWSOME! AHHHHH ITS AMAZING! GO IF YOU CAN you WILL NOT regret it...AH I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (102)
9/1/0654555 Blue Lake was a great expirence, i grew as a dancer and as a person!!!! all of the staff was very friendly!! the food was less than great though, but who goes to camp for the food right!!! everyday they had wonderful activites!! the dance was very exciting!! i hope that i can attend this camp once again next year!! and i think that it is fantastic that this camp is a place where youth can express who they are and all of there tallents!! this is also a great place for making new friens!! two weeks of sharing the same cabin with a group of people can really be a memorable expirience! it thank BLue Lake for introducing me to a spontanious group of girls we all are attending next year, in the same cabin if possible!!! I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (104)
8/29/0644444 I went to blue lake this summer [2006]. It was amazing. I improved a lot of my major. I met a lot of great people and made a lot of new friendships. The classes can be long and boring but the free time and stuff like that deffinetely makes it worth while. I am deff. going back next year. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (106)
8/15/0655555 I went to Blue Lake last year, and didn't go back cause my friends wouldn't be there, but i REALLY regret that decision. Blue Lake was the best thing that ever happened to me via music, i had the time of my life and absolutly loved every minute of it. I met some really amazing people there, and even though I live so far awy, It is soooo worth the 12 hour drive. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (108)
8/5/0655455 Blue Lake was the best two weeks of my life. The counselors were great. The food was ok. I would recommend this awesome camp to anyone who wishes to go further into their major. The sectionals were fun and the electives are great. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (110)
8/5/0654555 Blue Lake is awesome. Best two weeks of my summer every year. It's work, but it's fun work. Staff's great, food's aweful, but bearable. Great place for music, art and dance students to mingle from all over the country/world. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (112)
7/24/0653555 I love Blue Lake! You really learn a tremendous amount in 12 days, and you have loads of fun to boot! Great place, I recommend it to anyone who's involved in fine arts. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (114)
7/18/0653555 blue lake was totally the best camp i have ever been to. they really show you how to play better than before. and besides practicing all the time you can have fun too. the counselors are so awesome about everything. you can talk to them about anything. the food might not be gourmet but its not jail food so overall i was really happy. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (116)
4/14/0653544 Really great fun and learn lots of new stuff. They have chior, art, band, orchestra,and theater. Yes, the food isn't that wonderful,but when is camp food? The teachers are helpful and councelors are fun.You live in a cabin with about 12 other people for 12 days(that's one session). You get to play instruments outside, it's great fun. They have electives where you can take more classes too. Your days packed of learning new things and either singing, playing an instrument,preforming theater or drawing. On the last Sunday when parents pick you up you preform if your in choir, theater, band or orchestra and if your in art there is an art gallery where some of your peices are.you can make great friends, and scholarships are available. I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (118)

Rate this summer camp

I found 61 reviews for Blue Lake Fine Arts on CampRatingz.com (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Edmund Hettinger DC

Last Updated:

Views: 5511

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Edmund Hettinger DC

Birthday: 1994-08-17

Address: 2033 Gerhold Pine, Port Jocelyn, VA 12101-5654

Phone: +8524399971620

Job: Central Manufacturing Supervisor

Hobby: Jogging, Metalworking, Tai chi, Shopping, Puzzles, Rock climbing, Crocheting

Introduction: My name is Edmund Hettinger DC, I am a adventurous, colorful, gifted, determined, precious, open, colorful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.